This article outlines how to handle the prompt when the system believes it has found a duplicate.
Currently, the following criteria are flagging a potential duplicates in production:
- If the first name, last name, and current city are ALL the same.
- If the email addresses are the same.
- When either entering or updating a contact record the system believes is a duplicate based upon the criteria outlined above, the following prompt will appear:
- The top section is the current contact you have updated/are looking at, and the bottom section is other contacts the system believes could be a duplicate.
- Open the record(s) of the potential duplicate by clicking on the name of the contact. This will open the contact in a new window.
- Compare the record(s) with the contact you were currently looking at/editing. If you have confirmed that these are in fact duplicates, please submit a support request (support.wsb.wisc.edu) with the emails of the two records, and which record should be the master record for the contact.
- If you have made changes to the original contact record, make sure to hit the Save button at the bottom of the pop-up to save your changes. If you have not made any changes, you may cancel out of the window.